Big wheel photo

Showmen’s Guild ARG Update (3rd)

More councils give out ARG Grants – now 66 and rising

An additional 24 councils have now given out Additional Restrictions Grants (ARG) for being closed since Christmas, taking the total to 66.

The grants are given to those without business premises.

Further to the Guild’s advice and information on grants, the following 66 councils have now made ARG payments.

Some of those councils’ grants may have closed but are still good examples to quote to other councils.

Others may still be open to apply for – and equally useful to quote for other councils in your area.

If there are any queries, contact your regional Section office or committee members.

The councils are (Grouped according to the Guild’s geographical Sections):

Northern Section:

1. Durham County Council;

2. Darlington Borough Council, County Durham;

3. Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council, (from 2015 nominally addressed as in Yorkshire)

Yorkshire Section:

4. Wakefield Metropolitan District Council, West Yorkshire;

5. Kirklees Metropolitan Council, West Yorkshire;

6. Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council., South Yorkshire;

7. Calderdale Council, West Yorkshire;

8. Scarborough Borough Council, North Yorkshire;

9. Selby District Council, North Yorkshire;

Lancashire Section:

10. Bolton Council, Greater Manchester (Lancs.).

11. Bury Council (Bury, Prestwich, Radcliffe, Ramsbottom, Tottington & Whitefield) Lancs;

12. South Ribble Borough Council, Lancashire;

13. Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council, Merseyside;

14. West Lancashire Borough Council;

Midland Section:

15. Birmingham City Council;

16. Walsall Council, West Midlands;

17. Coventry City Council;

18. Wolverhampton: City of Wolverhampton Council, West Midlands;

19. Charnwood Borough Council, Loughborough;

Notts & Derby Section:

20. Derby City Council;

Western Section:

21. Cornwall Council, Truro;

22. Eastleigh Borough Council, Hants;

23. Wiltshire Council, Trowbridge;

24. Somerset & West Taunton Council;

25. Mendip District Council, Shepton Mallet, Somerset;

26. South Somerset District Council Yeovil;

27. Dorset Council (new wider area since April 2019 covering 6 former councils);

28. Gosport Borough Council, Hampshire;

29. Portsmouth City Council, Hants;

30. New Forest District Council, Hampshire;

31. Plymouth City Council, Devon

32. Gloucester City Council;

33. Tewkesbury Borough Council, Gloucestershire;

Eastern Counties Section:

34. Dunstable Town Council, Bedfordshire;

35. West Norfolk Council, Kings Lynn;

36. Breckland Council. Dereham, Norfolk;

37. East Suffolk Council, Lowestoft;

38. South Norfolk Council, Norwich;

39. Kettering Borough Council, Northamptonshire;

London & Home Counties Section:

40. Uttlesford District Council, Safron Walden, Essex;

41. Castlepoint Council, Benfleet, Essex;

42. Chelmsford City Council, Essex;

43. Castlepoint Borough Council, Essex;

44. Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council, Kent;

45.  Folkestone & Hythe District Council (Formerly Shepway) Kent;

46. Swale Borough Council, Sittinbourne (Faversham & Sheerness), Kent;

47. Gravesham Council, Gravesend, Kent;

48. London Borough of Southwark;

49. London Borough of Richmond;

50. London Borough of Barnet;

51. London Borough of Croydon;

52. London Borough of Havering;

53. Hertsmere Borough Council, Borehamwood, Herts;

54. Brighton & Hove City Council, Sussex;

55. Lewes District Council, East Sussex;

56. Chichester District Council, West Sussex;

57. Mole Valley District Council, Surrey;

58. Elmbridge Borough Council, Surrey;

59. Buckinghamshire Council;

60. Waverley Borough Council, Godalming, Surrey;

61. Reading Borough Council, Berkshire;

62. West Berkshire Council, Newbury;

63. Runnymede Borough Council, Surrey;

South Wales:

64. Pembrokeshire County Council, Haverfordwest;

65. City & County of Swansea Council;

66. Herefordshire Council;

• If you live in one of these areas and have either not applied or have applied and been rejected for not having Business Premises; then do apply / reapply now.

• If you do not live in one of these areas, but have either not applied for the ARG or have applied and been rejected for not having Business Premises; then apply / reapply in your area – quoting these 42 places as evidence that your council should follow suit.

• In all cases, include the CEO of the Council and your local MP in copies of your application / complain to them both if you are rejected.

• Remember to keep all copies of all correspondence related to applications, including screenshots on your phone of online applications.

• Do contact your Section with your experiences good or bad, including the name of your local council, so that we can represent these to the Govt. and so as to help your colleague members.

Further information is available in our newsletter of 17 February 21.

For any queries related to any of the above information, please contact your Section Office or Section committee members directly.

Photo by Roger Bradshaw on Unsplash

Get News Alerts
Invalid email address
July Deadline!
Share via
Copy link